Okay…  I’m still on this.  Because we have all these friends and family members back in the states who have (understandably) been confused by the pictures and video of Trish and I getting ‘married’…  So to be absolutely clear, we are not married.  It was a piece of theatre.  It was very convincing in many ways, but if you had been there you would have had no doubt whether or not we had *actually* gotten married.  It was a commentary on the values symbolized by wedding rings being tarnished by what amounts to ‘blood gold’…  And how people no longer have to make these types of compromises now that Fair Trade Gold is available.  It was a pretty fantasy, and I have to admit that I even bought into it for a little while while we were dancing, but it was a fiction called Token of Love that Caroline and I dreamed up in a Star Bucks near Green Park station.

It does bring up some very interesting questions about the difference between real and make-believe, and I suppose it may also raise some ethical questions about deception of one’s family from thousands of miles away via social networks…  And it highlights once more for me the fact that, the more I read; the more I practice, and the more lectures and discussions I participate in, the less firm my grasp on all of the definitions.  Theatre itself has become an extremely problematic term for me.  I mean, I guess there are sort of shallow ends where there’s all sorts of stuff going on, and deep ends where it’s definitely ocean…  Like someone decides to plunk a Tennessee Williams play down on a stage in some community auditorium with painted flats and all sorts of gingham you are definitely in the ocean.  No doubt but that is theatre.  It may be theatre no one wants to watch, but there’s no questioning what it is.  But you get James Baker climbing a ladder five-thousand times drawing stars all over the ceiling trying to get NASA to call him an astronaut, and suddenly all the depth of certainty is gone.  *sigh*  It’s too late and I am too tired to ponder this question to any great end just at the moment…

