The wedding was intimate and lovely, and the reception was fun and touching and… wondrful.  It causes me to think about these theatre pieces (I call them thus because I don’t have better vocabulary to describe them) as being strange blurry places where what is real and what is performed fiction becomes difficult to distinguish between.  Trish and I dd not get married.  We did not sign contracts and we were not wedded by a lisenced official.  But we did stand in a big hall with a pipe organ and stained glass.  In front of a guy wearing a black suit with a white stiff clerical collar, and we did say vows.  Trish did wear a veil.  I did wear a suit.  We are in love and we are really engaged.  We were introduced to a room full of friends and strangers as man and wife.  We were toasted; cut cake, kissed, danced, and I did stare into her eyes with love and desire.  I did choke on my speech because I was going to tear up if I carried on, and I was on cloud nine for the rest of the day.  But we are not married.  And we did not get into a limousine and fly out of Heathrow to Cancun.  The champagne was real (though some of it was non alcoholic).  The cake was real (there were no forks) the music and the dancing and the little plastic man and woman on the cake were real.  And Trish and I are real.  And our audience was real.  Our guests.
But Trish is an actor too.  I am (sometimes) an actor.  Mauricio is an actor, and our priest John is an actor.  We were actors playing ourselves.  I was Will playing Will if he were getting married; if he were far away from his family and his homeland and he had decided to get married and he wanted to have some guests so he just invited friends and friends of friends.  Trish was Trish playing Trish if she were celebrating at a reception and being celebrated as a new bride.  And she was (and is) beautiful.  Really.  So what was false?  What was fiction?  And does it count as theatre or just make believe?
http://www.allthatglitterstheatre.com

